… Charges Them to Abide by Their Operational Guidelines

To support Traffic Management Personnel, improve traffic flow across the State and ensure orderliness at motor parks, the Lagos State Government has reconstituted and inaugurated Removal of Abandoned Vehicles and Park Monitoring Committees.

Speaking during the inauguration on Friday, the Special Adviser to the Governor on Transportation, Hon. Sola Giwa stated that the Removal of Abandoned Vehicles Committee’s primary responsibility is the prompt removal of all abandoned and disused vehicles obstructing traffic and posing security threats to the metropolis.

The Special Adviser added that the Park Monitoring Committee responsibility is to ensure orderliness across parks, prevent use and sale of alcohol and other related substances in the park, and clamp down on illegal parks and illegal commuter operations amongst others.

He reiterated the State Government’s resolve to ensure the free flow of traffic and the safety of lives and property, in accordance with the Transport Sector Reform Law (TSRL) 2018.

Hon. Giwa emphasised that the Committee’s efforts will significantly reduce traffic congestion, enhance the free movement of motorists, clampdown on use of abandoned vehicles by criminals and promote ease of doing business in Lagos.

The Transportation Adviser also cautioned committee members to see their roles as a service to the state and to avoid any irresponsible actions that could tarnish the government’s reputation, warning that any misconduct would be met with severe consequences.

The Permanent Secretary, Mr. Olawale Musa urged committee members to adhere strictly to the rules and regulations guiding their operations, assuring them that all necessary tools to enhance their performance would be provided.

He further cautioned that any member of the committee found operating outside the terms of reference will face the full wrath of the Law.  

The Permanent Secretary, therefore, enjoined members of the public to cooperate with the committee while discharging their responsibility. He added that any misconduct by committee members should be reported to the Ministry’s complaint numbers: 09020004000 or 09020009000

Related Articles

Back to top button