Before 1979, there existed only a Transportation Unit in the planning division of the old Ministry of Works and Planning.

Under the administration of Alhaji Lateef Jakande, the explosive growth of traffic in the metropolis posed logistic challenges that could no longer be served by a sub-stratum of the Ministry. This led to the creation of a full-fledged Ministry of Transportation in Lagos State. There were two objectives for setting up the Ministry:

  1. To set up a centralized transit system within the metropolis
  2. To tackle the chaotic transportation problems in the state.

In 1984, under the administration of Governor Gbolahan Mudasiru, the Ministry of Transportation was merged with the Ministry of Works and became the Ministry of Works and Transport. In 1994, it was separated under the Oyinlola Administration and named Ministry of Public Transportation. At the inception of the administration of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the name of the Ministry was changed to Ministry of Transportation and from then, the Ministry began to reflect the contemporary realities and the vision of the present administration as regards bequeathing Lagosians with an efficient and effective transport system.



VISIONTo have a Safe, Reliable, Effective and Efficient Integrated Multi-modal Transportation System that is sustainable for Socio-economic benefit of Lagosians.

MISSION: Development of Transport Infrastructure and Integrated Multi-modal Transportation Administration with the aim of achieving safety of lives and properties, Free flow of traffic and sectoral support for investment growth across Lagos State

Back to top button